Some content is only visible to members when signed in.

Log in to view all content

How Do I Apply/Update My Coverage?

On this page



When to update your coverage

To ensure your sessions are properly billed and covered according to your insurance, EAP, or other benefits, and to continue receiving Talkspace services, it’s important to add or update your coverage information if:

  • You have new coverage.
  • Your existing coverage has expired, and you want to switch to a self-pay, out-of-pocket subscription.
  • Your existing coverage has expired or has been exhausted, and you want to use another form of coverage.
  • You signed up with the wrong coverage. After correcting your coverage, be sure to cancel any unused rooms to avoid billing errors.

Trouble updating coverage

If the option to update your coverage isn't available in your account, visit this guide for tips on how to resolve: No Option to Update Coverage or Add Service in My Account.

If your benefits aren’t applying correctly, please follow the relevant guide below:


Step-by-step guide on how to apply/update your coverage

Update Coverage.png

  1. Log in at www.talkspace.com or on the Talkspace app.
  2. Click on Account (Account Icon.png) located on the top-right corner of the screen.
  3. Click on Update coverage.
    • If you don't see this option, click Payment and plan.
  4. Select the room you'd like to apply coverage for.
  5. Choose how you'd like you pay: by insurance, out-of-pocket, or through benefits from EAP, employer, school, or organization.
  6. Answer the questionnaire and provide your coverage details, if applicable. 

How to tell if you have successfully updated your coverage

To confirm your coverage has been updated correctly, check your active plans under Payment and plan in your account settings. For more details, open the guide that matches your benefit type:

After updating your coverage, a new room may be created for you. If this happens, please make sure to use the new room moving forward. This ensures your sessions and messages are properly associated with your updated coverage. You'll still have access to your previous room and any messages you shared with your provider there.

In most cases, you can continue working with the same provider as long as they have availability. In some situations, you may be matched with a new provider if your current provider can't continue services due to licensure or health plan restrictions. For more information, check out this article: Why Was My Provider Changed?

Was this article helpful?
Have more questions? Submit a request