How do I start, schedule, update or cancel a session with my provider?

Welcome to Talkspace, where you can connect with a licensed provider through asynchronous messaging sessions, real-time live sessions, or both depending on your plan and coverage.

How do Asynchronous Messaging Sessions Work?

With an asynchronous messaging session, you can send text, video, or voice messages to your Talkspace provider anytime. You'll get a response within one working day, during their working hours, five days a week.

How you start an asynchronous messaging session varies based on your Talkspace plan. For details, select how your plan is paid for below. Remember, you can always check your plan details in your account settings if you're not sure! 

Employee Assistance Programs (EAP) or Behavioral Health (BH) Insurance Benefits
If you have Talkspace through EAP or BH benefits, all session types must be booked. Start a messaging session by clicking the "Book a Session" banner at the top of your therapy room. Then, choose "Messaging Session."

Book a session

Once you start a session, you'll see a “Messaging Session in Progress” banner at the top of your chat room. Just so you're aware, after it starts, it can't be cancelled or switched to a live session. However, if you have live sessions available, you can book a separate live session in addition to the messaging session!

SessionInProgress.png

Benefits from your Organization, Employer, School, and City
If your plan includes asynchronous messaging, you can simply message in your chat room whenever needed.
No Coverage, Paid Fully Out-of-Pocket
If you pay on your own, you can message in your chat room anytime -- no need to book a session.

Due to legal regulations around prescribing psychotropic medications, Talkspace psychiatry sessions must be conducted through live video sessions. We are unable to offer asynchronous messaging, live chat, or live audio sessions to psychiatry clients at this time.


How do Live Sessions Work?

If you have live sessions in your plan, you may be able to choose live video, audio, or chat when you book an appointment. Make sure to enable your device's camera and microphone permission for Talkspace when joining a live video or audio session. 

Before your live session starts, we'll remind you in your chat room with a link to join. Once you and your provider have joined, the session will begin.

In the event that your provider can't make it, you can easily reschedule with the same session credit!

For clients paying fully out-of-pocket: you have a set number of live sessions each billing period. These don't carry over each month so book your sessions early to make sure you use them! Still need more sessions? You can buy them while scheduling.

Scheduling, Rescheduling, or Canceling a Session
Take charge of your live sessions with ease. Navigate through them effortlessly by following the steps below.

If you ever find yourself unable to attend a session and encounter difficulties canceling it on your own, feel free to coordinate directly with your provider in your room for assistance. While our Support team is available to help with various inquiries, they are unable to manage the cancellation, scheduling, or rescheduling of your sessions on your behalf.

It's important to keep in mind that late cancellations, late rescheduling, and no-shows may result in the loss of session credit and being charged the full session cost.

Schedule a Live Session Reschedule a Booked Session Cancel a Booked Session
To schedule a live session:
  1. Log in at www.talkspace.com or on the Talkspace app.
  2. Go to the "Tools" section on the left of the screen.
  3. Click on "Live sessions" and choose a provider.
  4. Click on "Book session." If you don't have a session credit, you may have the option to buy one depending on your plan.
  5. Choose the session type (Video, Audio, Chat), date, and time.
    • Can't find an available time slot that works for you? Click the option to discuss or share your availability with your provider.
  6. Confirm by clicking "Reserve session." 

Note: Your provider has up to 24 hours before the scheduled session to confirm.

Reactions Feature on Apple (MacOS/iOS) Devices
If you're using an Apple (MacOS/iOS) device, you might see reactions filling your video frame with a 3D effect based on hand gestures. This feature is enabled by default for all video apps when the latest software updates are installed on your device. You can choose to keep it on or turn it off.

To turn off the feature, you’ll need to do so during a video call on the Talkspace platform (website or app).

Mac UsersiPhone/iPad Users
If your device is using macOS Sonoma, to turn the Reactions feature on or off, join a video call on the Talkspace platform. Once the call is started, click on the Video menu video menu.png, which will only appear in the menu bar when a video call is in progress. Then, click on Reactions to disable or enable it.

Please note that if you use different browsers at any point, you'll need to repeat this process for each browser that you use.

To find out what version of macOS your computer is running, go to the Apple menu  in the upper-left corner of your screen and choose About This Mac. The window that opens will include the macOS name followed by its version number.

You can find these instructions and more information about the Reactions feature for macOS here.

Having trouble joining a live session? Try the tips in Live Session Troubleshooting.

 

Was this article helpful?
Have more questions? Submit a request