Log in to view all content.
Skip the wait and find your answer by signing in
and exploring all FAQs.

How do I add my partner to my couples therapy room?

To invite a partner to join you in a therapy room, please ensure that you have signed up for our couples therapy service. To confirm whether you are on a couples plan, refer to What is included in my Talkspace plan?

Once you have a couples room set up, you will be able to invite your partner to join.

Looking to add or change your individual subscription to couples subscription? Discover more at Sign Up for Talkspace: Individual, Couples, Teen Therapy, and Psychiatry Services and How do I change plan or add a new service?

Here's how to invite your partner to your couples therapy room:

Web Mobile App
Web
  1. Log into your account at www.talkspace.com
  2. Click into your couples therapy room.
  3. At the top of your room, click the Add your partner to the room banner.
    • If you don't see this banner, go to the Room Details page by selecting this icon (room_details_icon.png) at the top right corner of the page.
    • On the Room Details page, select Add your partner.
  4. Follow the instructions on-screen.
    • You will be prompted to enter your partner's email address, where they'll be sent an email invitation to join your couples therapy room. 
      • If your partner has an existing Talkspace account, the invitation should be sent to the email address on file with their existing account.
      • If your partner does not have an existing account, they'll be able to create one using the same email address you've sent the couples therapy invitation to.

The link to join your room will be valid for 24 hours. During this period, you'll have the option to revoke; you'll also be able to resend should the time lapse before your partner is able to accept.

Add your Partner to the Chatroom Web Navigation

Click image to enlarge

To ensure both you and your partner can access the Talkspace platform, we recommend logging into Talkspace using separate devices. If another device is not available, please use incognito or private browsing mode on your browser to log into the second account. 

Are there any differences being the primary couples account holder and the secondary couples account holder?

Our platform recognizes the primary couples account holder as being the account that signed up for and purchased the couples therapy subscription initially. Both the primary and secondary account holders will have access to the same couples therapy room and be able to attend joint live sessions. However, as the primary account holder, you’ll have the sole ability to schedule live sessions, change provider, check the clinical progress tracker, respond to assessments sent by the provider, and request a superbill. Secondary account holders will need to work with the primary account holder on these items.

Was this article helpful?
Have more questions? Submit a request